Back to the Blog

Like It? Share It


Subscribe to the Blog:

National Advanced Practice Clinician Council Annual Conference 2022

By Randal Dabbs, Co-Founder and President, Practice Development

The National Advanced Practice Clinician Council (APCC) of TeamHealth met in June in Knoxville, Tennessee, for its annual conference. The APCC is composed of physician assistants, nurse practitioners and CRNA leaders from emergency medicine, hospital medicine, anesthesiology, post-acute care and ambulatory care groups. It was created in 2012 by Dr. Randal Dabbs to increase engagement, share best practices, improve collaboration, and serve as a voice of these clinicians.

Being afforded the opportunity to represent this group of professional and talented leaders has truly been the highlight of my career at TeamHealth.” – Cindi O’Boyle, PA-C, EM-CAQ, APC Director, Northeast Group

Dr. Dabbs, Co-Founder and President, Practice Development, and executive sponsor hosted the meeting along with the new chairperson, Nicole Hubbard, Regional Chief CRNA, who accepted the gavel from outgoing chair Cindi O’Boyle, PA-C, EM-CAQ, APC Director, Emergency Medicine, Northeast Group. “I’m proud of the work we did this past year. As a result of the tireless efforts of the council, we were able to effect changes that have positively impacted our APC practices,” O’Boyle says.

2022 Officer Elections

  • Chairperson: Nicole Hubbard, Regional Chief CRNA
  • At-Large Chair Elect: Jeff Coffman, PA-C, MOES, Lead APC, Emergency Medicine
  • Secretary: Chris Pinkerton, PA-C, System Lead, Lead APC, Emergency Medicine
Those in attendance from left to right front row: Greg Stevens; Amanda Parsons; Tom Vascik; Nicole Hubbard; Beth McDaniel; Cindi O’Boyle; Cindi Brantley; Jennifer Edgar; Nadine McGraw; Kim Metcalf. Second Row left to right: Dr. Randal Dabbs; Andrew Funkhouser; Jeff Coffman; Chris Pinkerton; Chris Waybright; Ryan Johnson; Corry Wierzbowski; Rodney White; Deborah Reed; and Brendan Blackwelder. Marielle Migliorisi and Rachel Stevens were unable to attend.

2022 APCC Annual Conference

The general theme of the conference was one of integration. Dr. Jay Mesrobian, Chief Clinical Officer, Anesthesia, spoke on the realignment of the anesthesiology division within the four existing groups and suggested five ways that anesthesiology could work with other service lines for mutual benefits. Dr. Nathaniel Kesner, System Medical Director, Facility Medical Director, Special Operations Director, Hospital Medicine, Southeast Group, also presented integration processes between hospital medicine and emergency medicine.

The keynote speaker was Ryan Campbell, the youngest person to fly solo around the world. He later suffered a spinal cord trauma from a plane crash and spent years rehabbing from a paraplegic injury. He spoke about being “turbulent tough,” a very appropriate message during these times.

Dr. Randal Dabbs presented on advancing the mission of TeamHealth in communities across the country, and Dr. Robert Strauss, Chief Medical Training Officer, gave advice on balancing internal versus external validation of the life-saving efforts our clinicians provide each day. Dr. Brian Hanrahan, Regional Medical Director, Hospital Medicine, Southeast Group, Chris Waybright, Deb Reed, Tom Vascik, Cindi O’Boyle and Nicole Hubbard also presented information pertinent to the mission of the council.

TeamHealth’s APC Council

The Advanced Practice Clinician Council remains the tip of the APC spear for TeamHealth. The energy, camaraderie and enthusiasm of the group were refreshing and uplifting, and everyone was excited about the opportunities for the coming year.

For more stories from our clinicians, associates and the communities we serve, please subscribe to our blog.