News & Resources

Like It? Share It

TeamHealth Names 2017 Medical Directors of the Year

Press Release

TeamHealth Names 2017 Medical Directors of the Year, Post-Acute Clinician of the Year and Advanced Practice Clinician of the Year

(KNOXVILLE, Tenn.) April 12, 2017 – TeamHealth, a leading clinician services organization, has named its 2017 Dr. Gar LaSalle Medical Directors of the Year and Advanced Practice Clinician of the Year. TeamHealth’s operating presidents selected 10 individuals to receive these awards for leadership excellence.

“We are proud to recognize our 2017 Dr. Gar LaSalle Medical Directors of the Year and Advanced Practice Clinician of the Year,” said Miles Snowden, MD, chief medical officer for TeamHealth. “These men and women care compassionately for patients and exhibit both clinical excellence and outstanding leadership in their respective teams. TeamHealth is appreciative of their superior efforts and proud to be represented by these leaders among our hospital and post-acute facility partners.”

The 2017 emergency medicine honorees are:
  • Michael Eagan, MD, Raritan Bay Medical Center in Perth Amboy, New Jersey
  • George Gurdock, DO, Good Samaritan Medical Center in West Palm Beach, Florida
  • Guneesh Saluja, MD, Ingalls Health System in Harvey, Illinois
  • Scott Scherr, MD, Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center in Las Vegas, Nevada
The 2017 anesthesiology honoree is:
  • Patrick Behm, MD, Lima Memorial Health System in Lima, Ohio
The 2017 ambulatory care honoree is:
  • Lou Romig, MD, After Hours Pediatrics Urgent Care in Tampa, Florida
The 2017 acute hospital medicine honoree is:
  • Praveen Cheripalli, MD, Memorial Hospital Jacksonville in Jacksonville, Florida
The 2017 post-acute clinician honoree is:
  • Cherity Gurganus, PMHNP-BC, Smithfield Manor in Smithfield, North Carolina
The 2017 specialty hospitalist honoree is:
  • Tanya Mays, MD, Faxton St. Luke’s Healthcare in Utica, New York
The 2017 advanced practice clinician honoree is:
  • Rodney White, CRNA, Grandview Medical Center in Dayton, Ohio

These winners were selected from the approximately 20,000 healthcare professionals affiliated with TeamHealth.

TeamHealth’s annual Medical Director of the Year program was established in 2002 by Dr. Gar LaSalle, the company’s first Chief Medical Officer. As an innovative leader, Dr. LaSalle established a robust risk management program and leadership development training for clinical leaders.

About TeamHealth

At TeamHealth, our purpose is to perfect our physicians’ ability to practice medicine, every day, in everything we do. Through our approximately 20,000 affiliated physicians and advanced practice clinicians, TeamHealth offers outsourced emergency medicine, hospital medicine, critical care, anesthesiology, orthopedic hospitalist, acute care surgery, obstetrics and gynecology hospitalist, ambulatory care, post-acute care and medical call center solutions to approximately 3,300 acute and post-acute facilities and physician groups nationwide. Our philosophy is as simple as our goal is singular: we believe better experiences for physicians lead to better outcomes—for patients, hospital partners and physicians alike. Join our team; we value and empower clinicians. Partner with us; we deliver on our promises. Learn more at

The term “TeamHealth” as used throughout this release includes Team Health Holdings, Inc., its subsidiaries, affiliates, affiliated medical groups and providers, all of which are part of the TeamHealth organization. “Providers” are physicians, advanced practice clinicians and other healthcare providers who are employed by or contract with subsidiaries or affiliated entities of Team Health Holdings, Inc. All such providers exercise independent clinical judgment when providing patient care. Team Health Holdings, Inc., does not have any employees, does not contract with providers and does not practice medicine.